UPDATED: Women’s Professional Lacrosse League to field five teams in inaugural season

On Tuesday, Inside Lacrosse reported that the new Women’s Professional Lacrosse League (WPLL) will field five teams when the inaugural season begins in the summer of 2018.

The five franchises include the Upstate Pride, the Philadelphia Fire, the NY Fight the Baltimore Brave and the New England Command. Each team will have around 20 players per roster.

The WPLL is separate from the semi-professional United Women’s Lacrosse League (UWLX), which just capped off its second season earlier in August. WPLL founder Michele DeJuliis was the original commissioner of the UWLX before she stepped down in December 2016.  There is no telling how these two leagues will interact or conflict in the women’s pro lacrosse market.

“The WPLL is a two-part operation: it is both a professional lacrosse league and a development program for rising talent in our sport,” WPLL’s founder Michele DeJuliis said in a league press release. “Though our obvious focus is lacrosse development, our practicum – for both professional players and rising talent – prioritizes character development as means to excelling in life on and off the field.”

[More from Excelle Sports: UWLX Commissioner Michele DeJuliis steps down after league’s first year]

Before the WPLL starts next year, an exhibition match will be held this fall. Players can sign up for the draft here.

Jump To Comments