Anna Pogorilaya wins NHK Trophy; Ashley Wagner misses Grand Prix Final

The women’s Grand Prix Final will include four Russians for the third time in four years. American Ashley Wagner saw her Grand Prix Final hopes end after a career-worst sixth place at the Cup of China a week ago.

Wagner needed fellow American Mirai Nagasu to finish higher than Satoko Miyahara—Nagasu trailed by just 0.76 points after the short program—but she fell to fifth after an eighth-place showing in the free skate.

Anna Pogorilaya of Russia won the NHK Trophy on Saturday in Japan by nearly 13 points. Miyara jumped up a place from third to second with 198.00 points. Russian Maria Sotskova was third with 195.88 points.

The field for the women’s Grand Prix final is the following: world champion Evgenia Medvedeva, Pogoriaya, Elena Radionova, Kaetlyn Osmond, Sotskova and Miyahara. Wagner will be the first alternate in case one of the six finalists pulls out.

Jump To Comments