Old Dominion to join Big East, AAC to add women’s lacrosse in 2019

Women’s college lacrosse will have a few conference shake-ups in 2019.

Wednesday, American Athletic Conference Commissioner Mike Aresco announced that women’s lacrosse will be added in 2019 as a six-team league, the 16th Division I conference in women’s lacrosse. The addition now gives the AAC 22 sports which it sponsors, including 10 men’s and 12 women’s sports.

The league will be comprised of Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Florida, Temple and Vanderbilt. The Gators and the Commodores will be affiliate members.

With Cincinnati, UConn, Temple, Florida and Vanderbilt all coming over from the Big East Conference, Old Dominion has announced they will be joining the Big East as a new affiliate member beginning in 2019.

The Monarchs will be joining Butler, Georgetown, Marquette, Villanova and Denver to make up the six-team league.

In women’s lacrosse, automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament are awarded to conferences with at least six teams.

[More from Excelle: US Lacrosse announces girls rules changes for 2018]

Old Dominion currently competes in the Atlantic Sun Conference, which will also split up with the Southern Conference in 2018 to form two six-team leagues.

Jump To Comments