UAA Communications photo by Courtney Culbreath

Florida’s Alex McMurtry wins NCAA Gymnastics all-around title

Florida gymnast Alex McMurtry won the NCAA Gymnastics all-around title Friday night.

McMurtry scored a 39.8125 in the all-around to become the fifth Gator to win the all-around in the last six seasons.

The NCAA all-around champion is determined by combining all-around results from both of Friday’s semifinals.

“It’s been an amazing ride, there have been some lows, but this is definitely the highest high,” McMurtry told reporters Friday night. “I really thought to myself [earlier in the season], ‘Maybe coming back on floor isn’t happening this year.’ So being able to do that, and have it end tonight on floor, made it come full circle for me.”

McMurtry’s 39.8125 trails only the 39.90 set by Georgia’s Courtney Kupets in the 2009 Super Six in all-time NCAA all-around history.

“Tonight, if you could have had a microphone on my brain and hear the thoughts going on in my head, [it was] nothing but confidence,” McMurtry said. “The second I had a doubt, I would say to myself, ‘You’re the best …’ That [belief] took me so far. Those thoughts were never in my head freshman year, or sophomore year, or even earlier this season.”

Watch highlights from McMurtry’s big night below:

In addition to winning the all-around, the Florida junior also captured the co-national title on uneven bars with a score of 9.95, along with Alabama’s Katie Bailey, LSU’s Sarah Finnegan, Oklahoma’s Maggie Nichols and Nicole Lehrmann and UCLA’s Kyla Ross. LSU’s Kennedi Edney won the vault with a score of 9.9875, while LSU’s Ashleigh Gnat and Utah’s MyKayla Skinner scored a 9.9625 on floor to share the national championship. Ross won the beam with a 9.9625.

[More from Excelle Sports: The art of the perfect 10: College gymnasts, coaches and judges reveal what it takes to be the best]

The Super Six Finals, where the team trophy will be awarded, will be held Saturday night. In addition to McMurtry’s Gators, other teams in the Super Six are LSU, Alabama, as well as Oklahoma, UCLA, Utah.

Jump To Comments